Chad Muma of Wyoming named one of 16 semi-finalists for the 2021 Butkus Prize



LARAMIE, Wyoming (UW ATHLETICS OUT) – Wyoming linebacker Chad Mouma was named Monday among the 16 semi-finalists of the prestigious Butkus Prize. The Butkus Award honors the nation’s top linebackers. This is the 37th year of the Butkus Prize.

The selection is managed by a panel of 51 coaches, recruiters, recruiters and journalists who vote separately and confidentially using a 3-2-1 process, with a registration option offered. Selectors and selection criteria are posted at

Finalists for the college and secondary divisions are expected to be announced on November 22, and the winners no later than December 7. The professional winner will be announced in early 2022.

The Butkus Award partners with Agua Caliente Resort Casino Spa, Rancho Mirage, CA to celebrate the Butkus Award winners. The event is scheduled for Saturday February 5, 2022. Contact the Butkus Foundation for information on tickets and sponsorship.

The namesake of the Dick Butkus Award, who was recognized by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history.

Muma was the only Mountain West player named a semi-finalist this year. This is the second time in three years that Wyoming has a semi-finalist for the Butkus Prize. Former Cowboys linebacker Logan wilson was named a semifinalist in 2019 and now plays for the Cincinnati Bengals in the NFL.

Muma is currently ranked No. 4 nationally for solo tackles (6.5 per game) and ranked No. 10 nationally for total tackles (9.8 per game). He’s also tied for first in the country in interceptions returned for touchdowns, with two Pick Sixes this season. He’s recorded double digits in tackles in seven of eight games this season.

Muma first established himself as one of the nation’s top linebackers in 2020. He ranked No. 1 in Western Mountain and No. 3 nationally in tackles, averaging 11 , 8 tackles per game. He was also ranked 16th nationally in solo tackles, averaging 5.5 per game. Muma was selected to the All-Mountain West First Team by MW head coaches and media in 2020.

Formed in 1985, the Butkus Award honors linebackers at three levels while supporting causes important to the Butkus family. Causes include the Butkus Takes Heart ™ initiative encouraging early cardiovascular screening in adults, and the I Play Clean® initiative encouraging athletes to train naturally without performance enhancing drugs.

The Butkus Award® is presented by the Butkus Foundation and selected by a 51-member expert panel made up of coaches, scouts and journalists. The award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which brings together the most prestigious awards in college football. The 25 NCFAA awards have honored over 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.

College semi-finalists (by college, rated returns *)

Christian Harris, Alabama *

Darien Butler, Arizona State

Darrian Castors, Cincinnati

Nate Landman, Colorado *

Nakobe Dean, Georgia *

Jack Campbell, Iowa

Damone Clark, LSU

Brian Asamoah, Oklahoma

Malcolm Rodriquez, State of Oklahoma

Noah Sewell, Oregon

Brandon Smith, State of Pennsylvania

Olakunle Fatukasi, Rutgers *

DeMarvion Overshow, Texas

Devin Lloyd, Utah *

Léo Chenal, Wisconsin

Chad Muma, Wyoming

High school semifinalists (by state and school)

Robert Woodyard, Lillie B. Williamson, Mobile, Alabama.

Niuafe Tuihalamaka, Bishop Alemany, Mission Hills, California.

Jimmy Rolder, Marist, Chicago, Ill.

Dasan McCullough, Bloomington South, Bloomington, Ind.

Nolan Ziegler, Catholic Central, Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Joshua Burnham, Traverse City Center, Traverse City, Michigan.

Stone Blanton, Madison-Ridgeland Academy, Madison, Miss.

Milestone Walker, Salisbury, Salisbury, North Carolina

Devon Jackson, Harry A. Burke, Omaha, Nab.

CJ Hicks, Archbishop Alter, Dayton, Ohio

Gabe Powers, Marysville, Marysville, Ohio

Jaylen Sneed, Hilton Head, Hilton Head, South Carolina

Harold Perkins, Cypress Park, Cypress, Texas

Kobie McKinzie, Lubbock Cooper, Lubbock, Texas

Lander Barton, Brighton, Cottonwood Heights, Utah

Shawn Murphy, Unity Reed, Manassas, Virginia.

Copyright 2021 Wyoming News Now. All rights reserved.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.