Iowa Central chasing wrestling gold | News, Sports, Jobs

Photo by Paul DeCoursey: Keaton Geerts was one of three regional champions at Iowa Central, which brings 10 wrestlers to national championships in Council Bluffs.

COUNCIL BLUFFS — The Iowa Central wrestling team will embark on their quest for another national crown starting here Friday.

The action begins at the NJCAA Championships inside the Mid-America Center at 9:30 a.m. The quarter-finals of the championship are at 6:15 p.m. and the semi-finals take place on Saturday at 10:30 a.m.

The finals will start on Saturday evening at 6:30 p.m. after the consolation finals earlier in the day.

The third-seeded Tritons shared the ICCAC regular season doubleheader with Indian Hills and placed second at the North Central District Championships. All 10 weights have been qualified, including individual titles for Keaton Geerts, Nolan Miller-Johnston and Jorden Pryor.

Both Geerts and Pryor reached the national final last spring as Jose Rodriguez won a national title. Aidan Harris, another returning qualifier, finished fourth.

Rounding out the lineup are John Lovett, Davian Gowens, Darnai Heard, Josh Ramirez and Coleton McElliott.

“We know what it’s going to take” Iowa Central head coach Luke Moffitt said. “We have struggled well since the break, but we have to come out first thing on Friday and show it. We need to score bonus points where we can, and if the guys lose we need to bring them back if we want to be in the team race on Saturday.

“It will be a tough and competitive tournament, like every year.”

In January, the Newts placed third in the National Dueling Tournament behind Clackamas and Western Wyoming. These two teams enter ranked No. 1 and No. 2 ahead of Iowa Central.

The ICCAC also has Indian Hills at No. 7, Northern Iowa Region No. 7, which won the district tag team title, Iowa Western at No. 10, Iowa Lakes at No. 10 and Ellsworth ranked 15th.

Moffitt led the Tritons to seven national titles, including 12 Top-3s and 17 consecutive Top-8s. They also have 31 individual national champions and 49 runners-up during that time.

All the action can be watched on FloWrestling.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Comments are closed.