Wyoming Cowboys Head Coach Craig Bohl Is New AFCA President | Soccer

Craig Bohl received a promotion.

The Wyoming head coach was elected president of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) for 2022 after serving as the organization’s vice president under Pat Fitzgerald of Northwestern.

At the AFCA meeting in Waco, Texas, the other officers nominated for the service this year were First Vice President Todd Knight of Ouachita Baptist University; Second Vice President Jeff McMartin of Central College (Iowa); and third vice president Paul Winters of Wayne State University (Michigan).

Other notable members of the AFCA board include David Shaw of Stanford, Sam Pittman of Arkansas, James Franklin of Penn State, Dave Clawson of Wake Forest and Dana Dimel of UTEP.

The Cowboys finished 7-6 with a victory over Kent State in the famed Idaho Potato Bowl to cap Bohl’s eighth season at UW.

Bohl, who has lost 10 players to the NCAA transfer portal during this cycle, will obviously be in a leadership position as coaches attempt to navigate this era of player movement and NIL.

Bohl was named AFCA FCS National Coach of the Year in 2012 and 2013 after leading North Dakota State to national championships. He also won AFCA Regional Coach of the Year honors in 2011 and 2013.

In 2012, Bohl was appointed to the AFCA Board of Directors. He won five conference Coach of the Year awards and two Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year awards during his 19-year career as a head coach.

Bohl was appointed to the 13-member NCAA Division I Football Competition Committee in January 2017 and also served on the NCAA Division I Football Oversight Committee.

Follow UW beat writer Ryan Thorburn on Twitter @By_RyanThorburn

Comments are closed.